‘come along’ CD GW 07

Our first cd received glowing reviews in the jazz press. The prestigious national jazz magazine ‘JUST JAZZ’ said…… “ Just Great !’’….” A nice mix of styles played with skill by a fine group of musicians’’….. “The  standard of playing is high throughout’’….. “Something for everyone ’’.

cd cover 'come along'
  1. Wolverine Blues         
  2. A Smoo-o-oth One       
  3. Down Home Rag
  4. Night Train
  5. Keeping out of Mischief Now
  6. Shout ‘em Aunt Tilley
  7. Mood Indigo
  8. Riverboat Shuffle
  9. Which Witch ?
  10. The Preacher
  11. Savoy Blues
  12. I’m Bidin’ my Time
  13. Caravan
  14. C Jam Blues
  15. Struttin’ with some Barbecue
  16. Come Along Please

Total Playing Time : 63’ 12’’

‘Great Western Mainline’ CD GW 09

Our second cd again met with some great reviews. ‘JAZZ DIARY’ said ‘Well put together and entertaining music of a high pedigree ‘ ….’This fine band works hard to give familiar and unfamiliar tunes a new twist’ ………. ‘Sound quality is top notch… some very nice solos.’

cd cover 'great western main line
  1. Jumpin’at the Haunted Ballroom
  2. Flow gently, Sweet Afton
  3. Blue Moon
  4. Everybody Loves my Baby
  5. Just You, Just Me
  6. Si Tu Vois ma Mere
  7. Opus One
  8. Milneberg Joys
  9. How About Me ?
  10. Comes Love
  11. 9.20 Special
  12. St. James Infirmary Blues
  13. Idaho
  14. Moondance
  15. Cry Me a River
  16. Great Western Mainline

Total Playing Time :  70’ 21’’


‘A Journey through Jazz’  CD GW 11

Our third cd was produced to complement our ‘Journey through Jazz’  programme, which we have been presenting at community halls  throughout Cornwall and Devon  since 2011, and illustrates the wide source of our repertoire, extending from Spirituals and New Orleans through to the Swing and the Big Band era … and beyond. Again the reviews have been great ….
John Leonard in Jazz Diary : “ a very tight well rehearsed band playing numbers from across the jazz spectrum” …..   “ this CD is an ambitious project carried out to perfection by a band that plays with a cheerful smile on its face.”
 Roger Marks in Jazz Journal :
“ well ordered .. spirited …very pleasant on the ear” …..” A band that works hard … precise syncopation  "the accomplished front-line perform with confidence and imagination"...."recording quality is absolutely top notch"....I commend the band.”

cd cover jouney through jazz
  1. RAGTIME -Whistling Rufus
  2. SPIRITUALS - Down by the Riverside
  3. HYMNS - Hymn to Freedom
  4. NEW ORLEANS - High Society
  5. ARMSTRONG - Struttin’ with some Barbecue
  6. ‘KID’ ORY - Ory’s Creole Trombone
  7. W.C.HANDY - St.Louis Blues
  8. ELLINGTON - Creole Love Call
  9. BOB CROSBY - South Rampart Street Parade
  10. ELLINGTON - Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
  11. BASIE - Jumpin’ at the Woodside
  12. BECHET - The Fish-Seller
  13. ‘TRAD’ - Chimes Blues
  14. MAINSTREAM - Please Don’t Talk
    About Me
  15. MAINSTREAM - Swing’s the Thing
  16. MODERN - Blue Monk

Total Playing Time :  70’ 19’’

NB All the above CD's feature Bob McTeare on trumpet/flugelhorn and vocals.


‘"A" TRAIN to Cornwall' CD GW 13

Our fourth cd is the first to feature our 'new' trumpet man and vocalist Phil Morris, who has so ably filled the gap left in the band following the untimely death of Bob McTeare in 2012. Phil has brought a lot of his favourite tunes into the band with him so our repertoire has been further broadened, as evidenced on this new cd! 17 tracks.

cd cover 'come along'
  1. Muskat Ramble         
  2. I Put A Spell On You
  3. Cornish Chop Suey
  4. Take The "A" Train
  5. I Can't Get Started
  6. Crazy Rhythm
  7. Just Squeeze Me
  8. It Don't Mean A Thing
  9. Teddy The Toad
  10. 'S Wonderful
  11. Love Is Just Around The Corner
  12. Doin' The Rounds
  13. Buona Serra
  14. Good Queen Bess
  15. Sweet Wiliam
  16. When You Come Back To Me
  17. Stevedore Stomp

Total Playing Time : 78’ 32’’



'Live Tracks' is the fifth CD from Cornwall's Great Western Jazz Company. It is also their first live recording, made at the 2015 Bude Jazz Festival, and features a typically eclectic mix from the band's wide-ranging repertoire:

cd cover 'come along'
  1. Big Butter And Egg Man
  2. Cherry
  3. Streamline Train
  4. Jersey Bounce
  5. Delia Gone
  6. King Of The Zulus
  7. Just Squeeze Me
  8. Comin' Home Baby
  9. Two Deuces
  10. Takes Two To Tangle
  11. Hodge Podge
  12. Worksong
  13. Lookin' For Turner
  14. Backlash Blues

Total Playing Time : 70’ 24’’



All our CDs are priced at £10 each , and are available from the band at all our gigs, or can be sent to you,  UK post free,  on receipt of your cheque ( made payable to ‘The Great Western Jazz Company’ ). Please send your order and payment to :
The Great Western Jazz Company, The Well House,
6, Fore Street,  St.Erth-Hayle,   Cornwall   TR27 6HT